Thinking About Thinking

“Metacognition is one of the latest buzz words in educational psychology, but what exactly is metacognition? Metacognition enables us to be successful learners, and has been associated with intelligence.” –Jennifer Livingston

Metacognition has often been simply defined by some as “thinking about thinking.” But…I’m kind of exhausted from thinking about my thinking, even while I am thinking about my thinking, in order to make my thinking better. I think my thinking is getting better when I think about it, but it’s hard to come home after all day of thinking and then have to think about what I thought all day then write a blog. See, aren’t you tired now too? It’s a lot of thinking!

What if I switched gears for a little bit and think about what I’m feeling?

Is there a super sophisticated term for thinking about what you are feeling?

My thoughts,
Sly girl

7 Comments

  1. Hey Sly Girl, I have been enjoying your writing! I think about thinking all the time too!

    I read that we think over 60,000 thought in one day with 80% of those being recycled from previous patterns. No wonder we are all tired!!

    KT Cat!

Leave a Reply

